THE TWELFTH IMAM

January 11, 2011


THE TWELFTH IMAM

One of my new year’s resolutions is to read more.  Generally, I read about two books per month but that’s dependent upon having enough time to really get into a good book.  I’m not the type to begin a book, read five chapters then put it down for two or three months.  The book must be interesting enough to “read through” or I don’t begin in the first place.  I must admit that I am from the “old school” that says–you begin a book, you finish a book.  Sometimes I do feel cheated but not with my latest “reading adventure”.

I just completed reading “The Twelfth Imam” by Joel C. Rosenberg, published by Tyndale Books.      This is the first book I have read by Mr. Rosenberg and I must say I am very impressed by his style and ability to organize complex material into an exciting and coherent story.  He is one of those authors who can produce a generous blend of fiction and fact; weaving those two elements together so that you really aren’t that sure as to which is which.  He uses a writing style producing chapters that are two, three, four pages in length, which I consider to be definite plus.  There are ninety (90) chapters in “The Twelfth Imam” and each chapter moves the story line in a fashion that generates continued interest and keeps the reader constantly engaged.   I have, like all of us, read books in which the chapters are twenty-five to thirty pages in length with large doses of minutia spread in an ample fashion throughout.  This book considers the reader and yet delivers with continuity.  It is complex to the point that necessitates listing all of the characters at the very beginning and prior to chapter one.  You get to know “who’s who in the zoo”.  Very good practice in my opinion.   The main character is Mr. David Shirazi (AKA Reza Tabrizi ).  Mr. Shirazi is a CIA operative who uses a telecom in Munich as cover.  His assignment is to infiltrate an Iranian organization working to produce a nuclear weapon of mass destruction.   The twelfth Imam factors into the story as the “promised one” prophesized to bring about the destruction of the “great Satan” and Israel.  The story line moves very very quickly but, quite frankly, ends in manner that leaves the possibility of several outcomes, depending upon your optimism –or the lack thereof.  I think there is definitely room for a sequel and hopefully Mr. Rosenberg will do just that.

I can definitely recommend this book to you as a wonderful “read”.  You will not be disappointed and it will be time well spent.    I just hope the contents do not represent the future of the Middle East.