TOO HARD?

September 7, 2012


Each year the Princeton Review publishes lists of colleges and universities that excel in specific areas of the “university experience”.   They actually conduct polls to question attending students relative to activities that might seem irrelevant to education but none the less very important to students.  I certainly recommend this web site to you.  It has a wealth of information.    Questions are asked regarding several categories as follows:

  • Great Financial Aid
  • Best Career Services
  • Most Religious Students
  • LGBT  Friendly
  • Best Town Life
  • Schools by Type
  • Most Politically Active
  •  Best  College Dorms
  •  Most Beautiful Campus
  • Lots of Greek Life
  • Reefer Madness (Can’t imagine what this one is like.)

 There are also sub-listings such as the ones below:

  • Students Who Study the Most
  • Students Who Study the Least
  • Least Accessible Professors
  •  Best Party Schools
  •  Stone-cold Sober Schools
  • Most Unhappy Students
  • Happiest Students

 It is really fascinating to me that year after year the least happy students seem to be attending schools that are generally known for engineering or STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) curricula.  The Review goes into significant detail regarding the categories and represents an “illuminating” read if you have already had the “university experience”.   The two lists below will show those schools making the “good” list and those making the “bad” list.

 

The Princeton Review’s “Least Happy Students” List

  1. Montana Tech of the University of Montana ( School of Mines and Engineering)
  2. Marywood University(Scranton, Pa)
  3. New Jersey Institute of Technology
  4. United States Merchant Marine Academy
  5. Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  6. United States Naval Academy
  7. Clarkson University( Potsdam, NY)
  8. Illinois Institute of Technology
  9. University of Maine
  10. City University of New York — Baruch College

The Princeton Review’s “Happiest Students” List

  1. Rice University
  2. Bowdoin College(Brunswick, Me)
  3. University of California — Santa Barbara
  4. Clemson University
  5. Vanderbilt University
  6. Claremont McKenna College ( Claremont,Ca)
  7. Thomas Aquinas College (Santa Paula, Ca)
  8. Kansas State University
  9. University of Southern California
  10. Pomona College

 When engineering students are interviewed as to their dislikes we hear the same general comments.

                “This stuff is really hard.”

                “I study all the time.”

                “I had no idea it would be this involved.”

                “The labs kill me.”

                 “I have no beer time.”

                “No time to party like the other students.”

                “My daddy made me go into engineering.”

When I attended the University of Tennessee we had classes on MWF, TuThurs, TuThursSat.  Yes, Saturday classes and it WAS hard but we thought it was supposed to be.  The drop-out rate and transfer rate was north of 50% the first year. My junior and senior classes rarely had more than ten students at the very most.  I understand other disciplines such as engineering physics, materials and nuclear engineering had even fewer students in each classroom during those last two years.   One good thing—if you survived to your second semester junior year, the professors knew you were serious about the subject matter and graduation.    Very few students dropped out or failed their senior year.  The teachers always gave you access and time and worked hard to get you over the finish line.  By that time, you had a reputation, for better or worse, and the professors knew you.   They knew what to expect from each student.  They knew you put in the hours.  They knew you were hard-core and intended to graduate regardless.  

I feel we have become a society in which rigor and discipline, for the most part, have dropped by the wayside.  I had much rather be entertained than study, but hadn’t we all?   I don’t know of a time when attention spans have been so short.  We feel the need to hop from one thing to another.  Multi-tasking has become uppermost in our minds for just about every endeavor.  In looking back, I can say my years at the university were well spent and have allowed me to provide for my family in a nice fashion.  4.0 GPA—forget about it!  Never happened and did not happen to most of my fellow classmates in mechanical engineering.  A “gentleman’s C” was sometimes a hard-fought proposition and concerning finals-win, lose or draw you were very happy when they were over.   Wonder if we can, as a nation, regain the enthusiasm we once had for education, even though some courses of study remain difficult?

 

44 Responses to “TOO HARD?”


  1. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through
    Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

    Like

  2. Deandre Says:

    Aw, this was a really good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to create a superb
    article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Deandre–You would not believe the number of favorable comments I have had from this topic. I, apparently, struck a nerve. Very happy you took a look and please do come again. Take care.

      Like


  3. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues?
    A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my site not working correctly in
    Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Logic. I have had no real difficulties with Chrome but have had problems with Explorer. I have contacted MS but they are really no help at all. Their suggestion—use Chrome. Thank you so much for your very kind words. I really appreciate you taking a look and do hope you will visit again. Take care. Bob

      Like


  4. I am genuinely delighted to read this website posts which carries plenty of useful data, thanks for providing these information.

    Like

  5. OLzcF6hDw3 Says:

    The Birch of the Shadow

    I think there might become a number of duplicates, but an exceedingly handy checklist! I have tweeted this. A lot of thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello OL–thank you so much for the kind comment and taking a look at my posting. I’m running a little behind in answering my mail so I appreciate your patience. Take care.

      Like


  6. Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine some unrelated data, nonetheless seriously worth taking a search, whoa did a single discover about Mid East has got a lot more problerms also

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Stasera. Too hard seems to be the theme for the United States right now. This post was one of my favorite and I’m happy you enjoyed it also.

      Like

  7. Royal Siam Says:

    The web is really useful for me and all people studying English. The quality of podcast is good and I hope there will be more useful and interesting lessons. Thanks!

    Like


  8. thx for interesting post!

    Like


  9. This site is packed full of good information on installing a home surveillance system. keep up the good work.

    Like


  10. Hiya, I am really glad I have found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and web and this is actually annoying. A good site with exciting content, that is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web-site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

    Like

  11. wiêcej Says:

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

    Like


  12. I am no longer certain the place you are getting your information, but great topic. I must spend some time finding out much more or figuring out more. Thank you for wonderful info I was searching for this info for my mission.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Generally, I name my resources. I’m absolutely convinced people like to read posting that are factual and have viable references. I don’t do Hollywood, politics, religion, etc etc but enjoy writing about subjects such as the one you just read. Again, many thanks.

      Like

  13. Link Says:

    How does Pageonce Pro compare? What about Pageonce\’s free offerings?

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      TOO Hard was one of my favirite blogs and one in which I certainly enjoyed writing. Our system of education in the western world is really somewhat difficult and the student sometimes does not get the benefit of instruction. Certainly happy you enjoyed the posting.

      Like

  14. how to buy zija products Says:

    Pretty nice post. I lately found your blog as well as wished to point out that I have genuinely cherished searching the blog website articles. All things viewed as I’ll be subscribing for the feed and I we do hope you build once again swiftly!

    Like


  15. Howdy sir, you’ve a definitely good weblog layout “

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Dear Private–this one was fun to write about. I follow education and topics such as these are very telling relative to you systems in this country. Take care and please come again.

      Like

  16. Maxine Daly Says:

    The next time Someone stated a weblog, Lets hope that this doesnt disappoint me up to this spot. Get real, Yes, it was my method to read, but I just thought youd have some factor fascinating to mention. All I hear is seriously a number of whining about something which you could repair in situation you werent as well busy interested in attention.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Maxine. Thank you for taking a look at my site. I have been blogging now for about three (3) years and find it a good way to be not only creative but informative. I stay with fairly narrow subject matter; i.e. technology and personal improvement but that’s ok. I had much rather have readers who go for quality rather than quantity. Again, many thanks. Take care.

      Like


  17. I’m cheerful that such fantastic blogs exist.

    Like


  18. I can not definitely help but admire your weblog, your weblog is so adorable and great ,

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Karagra, Many thanks for the very very kind words. Please come again. I have several topics “in the can” and will post during the month of February. Take care. B

      Like


  19. I occur to be writing to let you recognize what a unbelievable experience our girl encountered studying the weblog. She came to discover a great deal of factors, which involve what it is prefer to possess a great giving heart to create males and females really merely understand about particular grueling matters. You really did a lot more than our own expected final results. Quite a few thanks for displaying these helpful, trustworthy, revealing and also special guidance on the subject to Sandra.

    Like

  20. visit here Says:

    Good post. I discover something much more challenging on distinct blogs everyday. Most commonly it truly is stimulating to see content off their writers and exercise a little at their store. I’d would prefer to use some while employing content material in this small weblog whether you do not mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link for your internet weblog. Many thanks sharing.

    Like

  21. Hal Maxfield Says:

    Hi! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Hal–Many thanks for taking a look and I certainly hope you will come again. Too hard is one of my favorite posts and a subject ( education ) I follow quite closely. There will other blogs coming soon on the same subject.

      Like

  22. cielotech Says:

    Many thanks. If you liked this one you’re really going to like what’s coming up. Stay tuned.

    Like

  23. cielotech Says:

    Really happy you enjoyed the post and many thanks for the kind words.

    Like


  24. can you explain more about your post? actually, i cannot understand it fully. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Lista. Basically what I’m saying here is that in the United States, right now, college and university students attend not to gain an education but to further their networking skills and entertain themselves with anything other than learning. In our country, we have become “soft”. We don’t study enough, we don’t learn enough, we would like be catered to night and day. A student choses a school that has a nice campus, a good student center, proper dorm facilities, provides enought time drink beer and get slammed on the weekends. I think the Princeton Review highlights that very well. In looking at the subtities of their publication, you can see what some, if not most, students feel are the “bare necesisties” of campus life.

      Like


What do you think?

