FRAIZER 5 & DIME

July 27, 2022


As I have mentioned over the past few postings, Chattanooga has become one of the best places to have lunch and dinner in the state of Tennessee.  There are multiple family-owned restaurants in our three (3) local business areas: Southside, Downtown and Northshore.  That’s not to neglect great restaurants in the outlying areas but in Chattanooga you have a great variety of places to eat with a great variety of menus.  We always love to go to locally-owned restaurants as opposed to chain-type facilities.  Much better dining available and never “me-too” menus.  I suppose there is something to be said for conformity but also much to be said when surprised by great and original food. Novelty never wears off.

Two weeks ago, my wife and I visited a fairly new restaurant called Frazier 5 & Dime.  It’s in the same location as was the Beast and Barrel.  The Beast and Barrel did not survive COVID-19 but the location remains a prime spot-on Frazier Avenue.  The first thing you see when you walk in the door is the very well-stocked bar.  If you can’t find what you want here, I would be very surprised.  Notice also the lighting and the large glass windows to the left of the picture.

The next three digital pictures show the dining areas.  I quite frankly was very surprised at the space available.  The now-defunct Beast and Barrel had a much different layout and did not cater at all to large crowds.  The tables you see now are in open areas where there existed booths accommodating four or five people. 

Below is the Chef’s Table looking into the kitchen.  Five seats available.

Shown below is the largest seating area.  The table is set for a party of fourteen (14) people.  We finished our meal before this crew came in.

Now, let’s get to the food.  As you can see, we had as a starter, an ample serving of bread and deviled eggs.  Both were absolutely delicious and unique. 

My wife had fish and grits with roasted red pepper.  I’m not a big fan of grits but she loves them and I must admit the dish shown below did look amazing.  Clean plate club here.

I had ribs and they were to die for although for although I thought the “dipping sauce” was much too spicy, at least for my taste.  Ample portion of ribs blackened to form an outer crust. Tinder to the point of being able to cut them with a knife. 

In addition to the delicious food, there was an excellent selection of wine, mixed drinks, and beer.  I can certainly tell you my wife and I will be back.    I might mention that we eat early and I mean around five o’clock.  That the reason the restaurant was fairly empty.  It was not the food because it was delicious. DELICIOUS.  Come join us!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.