THE TWELFTH IMAM

January 11, 2011


THE TWELFTH IMAM

One of my new year’s resolutions is to read more.  Generally, I read about two books per month but that’s dependent upon having enough time to really get into a good book.  I’m not the type to begin a book, read five chapters then put it down for two or three months.  The book must be interesting enough to “read through” or I don’t begin in the first place.  I must admit that I am from the “old school” that says–you begin a book, you finish a book.  Sometimes I do feel cheated but not with my latest “reading adventure”.

I just completed reading “The Twelfth Imam” by Joel C. Rosenberg, published by Tyndale Books.      This is the first book I have read by Mr. Rosenberg and I must say I am very impressed by his style and ability to organize complex material into an exciting and coherent story.  He is one of those authors who can produce a generous blend of fiction and fact; weaving those two elements together so that you really aren’t that sure as to which is which.  He uses a writing style producing chapters that are two, three, four pages in length, which I consider to be definite plus.  There are ninety (90) chapters in “The Twelfth Imam” and each chapter moves the story line in a fashion that generates continued interest and keeps the reader constantly engaged.   I have, like all of us, read books in which the chapters are twenty-five to thirty pages in length with large doses of minutia spread in an ample fashion throughout.  This book considers the reader and yet delivers with continuity.  It is complex to the point that necessitates listing all of the characters at the very beginning and prior to chapter one.  You get to know “who’s who in the zoo”.  Very good practice in my opinion.   The main character is Mr. David Shirazi (AKA Reza Tabrizi ).  Mr. Shirazi is a CIA operative who uses a telecom in Munich as cover.  His assignment is to infiltrate an Iranian organization working to produce a nuclear weapon of mass destruction.   The twelfth Imam factors into the story as the “promised one” prophesized to bring about the destruction of the “great Satan” and Israel.  The story line moves very very quickly but, quite frankly, ends in manner that leaves the possibility of several outcomes, depending upon your optimism –or the lack thereof.  I think there is definitely room for a sequel and hopefully Mr. Rosenberg will do just that.

I can definitely recommend this book to you as a wonderful “read”.  You will not be disappointed and it will be time well spent.    I just hope the contents do not represent the future of the Middle East.

23 Responses to “THE TWELFTH IMAM”


  1. I simply could not leave your web site prior to suggesting that I
    actually loved the usual info a person supply to your guests?
    Is going to be again incessantly in order to check up on new posts

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Best–The Twelfth Imam was a fantastic book and I certainly recommend it to you. Many thanks for your kind words and taking a look at my post. Take care.

      Like

  2. learn more Says:

    Fantastic article on Home Surveillance, very good read

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      This book was a very good “read” and I can certainly recommend it to you. I have four more posts in the works–two of which are book reviews. Please come again.

      Like

  3. IggyBank Says:

    Very nice and informative.It is just i was looking for.

    Like

  4. profollica Says:

    I enjoyed your security posts,

    Like


  5. Thaaanks, I was really happy, reading this article. Thank you again.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      This was a fascinating book and a little scary. I could not really determine fact from fiction some of the time. Thank you for taking a look. Take care.

      Like


  6. You’ll find some fascinating points in time in this post nonetheless I don know if I see all of them middle to heart. There may be some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good write-up , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hey there Samantha, Thank you for your comments. Please feel free to use my posting as you see fit and I hope I have provided some “value-added”. This was a very interesting book and one I can definitely recommend .

      Like

  7. connect Says:

    migliorare inglese per il lavoro? Ascoltate i podcast gratuiti di BusinessEnglishPod.com e guardate i video di Video Vocab. E, per perfezionare ulteriormente, inglese, sfruttate

    Like


  8. Brilliance has a low bar these days. However, if that\’s what you like; sure. wow gold

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Portable. Happy you enjoyed this one. This actually was a book review written to indicate that fact and fiction (sometimes) not too distant. Hope you enjoyed it and certainly hope you return. Take care.

      Like


  9. Hi there. Pretty nice blog!! Man .. Fantastic .. Remarkable .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to find many beneficial information ideal right here within the post. Thanks for sharing…

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hell Mr. Roberson. Thank you so much. I’m going to keep on keeping on. Writing is tough for me but I certainly enjoy the nice comments such as yours. Take care. B.

      Like


  10. I found plenty of useful information on this blog.

    Like


  11. Not only did I find what I had needed, but also deepened my knowledge.

    Like


  12. I’m amazed. This blog is excellent.

    Like

  13. TM Says:

    Is it okay to insert a portion of this in my blog if perhaps I post a reference to this web-site?

    Like


What do you think?

