THE VALLEY OF DEATH

August 20, 2016


“Half a league half a league,

Half a league onward,

All in the valley of death

Rode the six hundred”.

This poem by Alfred, Lord Tennyson, was written to memorialize a suicidal charge by light cavalry over open terrain by British forces in the Battle of Balaclava (Ukraine) in the Crimean War (1854—1856).  The charge was led by Lord Cardigan against Russian forces.  Lord Cardigan had intended sending the light brigade to pursue retreating Russian artillery but due to a miscommunication error in the chain of command, the light brigade was instead sent on a frontal assault against a very well-prepared force with excellent defenses.  Two hundred and forty-seven (247) men were killed or seriously wounded that day.

Well, there is another valley of death—a digital valley sometimes deep, sometimes wide.  That valley occurs when your eight-year-old computer, running on MS Windows XP, crashes and burns.  As you probably know, Microsoft, in their infinite wisdom, quit supporting XP two years ago. XP was, in my opinion, the most robust software MS has produced to date. Oh by the way, GOOGLE Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Yahoo, and probably other browsers I know nothing about have stopped support also.  Talk about the valley of death.

This post was written by hand with a great fear and trembling, hoping to back in business fairly quickly. How long oh how long until I get my new computer?  I have over the years purchased my last three computers from Affordable Computers of Chattanooga. I get to specify each component used, the memory, and all of the “bells and whistles” my little heart can afford.  They do a great job, provide a two-year warranty and all with great support. They are now, as I write, making considerable efforts to copy files from my old computer into the hard-drive of my new “machine”.  I certainly wonder how much can be copied over.  How far gone was the hard-drive in my old system?

I say fear and trembling because, I skipped Vista, MS 7, MS 8 and MS 10 because I was told they were unstable.  XP was the system. Keep using it. Disregard the very frequent warnings of waning and nonexistent support. OK, I did and much to my discredit.  I suppose if you are reading this now that change was successful.

BACK IN BUSINESS. I certainly hope to get caught up with my posting.  Thank you for hanging in with me.

 

What do you think?

