THE WORST INVENTIONS OF MODERN TIMES

December 27, 2015


The following “inventions” were determined to be the “worst” inventions of our time.  These inventions were voted on by readers of Design News Daily.  The JPEGS come from various sources but the text is mine.  I have real “heartburn” on some of the selections and will voice my opinion as we progress down the digital list.  These are in no real order so you decide the invention you detest the most.  Here we go.

RoboCall Device

I am completely on board with this one.   Presidential elections will be held November 8th of this year and I’m already receiving robocalls indicating I should vote Republican, Democrat, don’t vote, etc etc.  Right now, I’m writing in Elvis Presley.

Tin Foil Hat

If any of you have seen the 2002 movie called “Signs” you know where this one came from.  Excellent cast with Mel Gibson, M. Knight Shymalan, Joaquin Phoenix, Abigail Breslin and Rory Culkin as the main characters. The “tin hats” were instrumental in keeping the invaders away.  Complete fiction but the hats did make the list.

AM Stereo

I cannot comment on AM Stereo because I never owned this device.  I suppose the technology made the list due to comparison with today’s technology.  As you well know, most technology is evolutionary and not revolutionary.  The “T” model came before the Lamborghini.  You get the picture.

The Clapper

When the CLAPPER was commercialized I thought it would be somewhat groundbreaking.  That was definitely a passing fad.

Pet. Motion Machines

Any engineer who has taken Thermodynamics knows there is NO such device as a perpetual motion machine.  That is nuts.  Again, I’m a little embarrassed readers of Design News Daily would but this bogus device (invention) on the list but WHATEVER.

DDT

DDT has also been shown to eliminate pests that consume food-stuffs and render crop growing less productive than possible.  The environmental impacts of “indiscriminate” use are definitely there but proper use can yield extremely beneficial results.

Catalytic Converters

A-10 Warthog

The A-10 Thunderbolt should NEVER have made this list. It is a marvelous aircraft that has fulfilled its mission over the globe.   I have no idea as to why the Design News readers included this one on the list.

Quaraphonic Radion Systems

Again, technology is evolutionary and not revolutionary.  Another miss as far as I am concerned.

I’m sure we could also make our own lists and I would encourage you to do so. Here is a very brief list of mine.

  • Pay toilets
  • New Coke
  • Ford Pinto (Trust me on this one. I owned one. )
  • Betamax (Here again—I owned one.)
  • Asbestos
  • Vibrating Ab Belt (Don’t ask!!!!!!)
  • Smell-O-Vision
  • Hair-In-A-Can
  • Mizar Flying Car

As I mentioned, I’m sure you can construct a list of your worst inventions.  Give it a try.

What do you think?

