POLITICS OF THE ENGINEERING COMMUNITY

October 20, 2012


The graphics for this blog were developed from a survey by Machine Design and an article written by Steven J. Mraz, October 16, 2012. 

There are several subjects I generally stay away from due to their very nature but since this is an extremely important election year I thought I would venture into the realm of the forbidden.  I think most people, including politicians, are fascinating although I definitely feel politics for the sake of getting one’s way is remarkably detrimental to “good works”.  Quite frankly, I would not give you a bucket of warm spit for what I seen in Washington D.C.  Total lack of cooperation between the parties.  Virtually no resourcefulness in trying to find viable solutions to our most troubling problems, and we have many.  Seeming unwillingness to “cross the isle” and negotiate with people of differing view-points.  I agree with the majority of engineers in that the next President will not matter that much relative to solutions forthcoming.   I would do cartwheels if they would choose one problem; i.e. economy, jobs, schools, health care, immigration, crime, etc. and fix it.  Just one solved problem would restore my diminished faith in their ability to contribute in a worthwhile manner.   With that being said, let’s see what our peers indicate as their views on politics in this political year. 

Engineers tend to view themselves as much less liberal and slightly more conservative than the general public, according to a recent survey of over 1,200 readers of MACHINE DESIGN and Electronic Design magazines. The same survey also found that engineers are more likely to be Republican (42.1%) or Independent (33.7%) voters, as opposed to Democrats (14.5%).  And although over a third of the engineers think Republicans represent the best interests of the engineering community better than Democrats, a majority of engineers (48.1%) believe neither party is really on the side of engineers.

The graphic above will illustrate the percentages of beliefs held by the respondents.   I personally am an independent.  I have voted Republican, Democrat and Independent at times during my adult life-time.  I vote for the person and not the party.  Seems the proper thing to do and signifies my belief that there is nothing inherently wrong with being in either classification relative to the beliefs of the person running.  I definitely am conservative when it comes to all things financial.

The pie-chart above and the one below indicate that I am not alone with that viewpoint.

 In looking at the performance of President Obama, we see the following.

I find it very hard to disagree with this one.  He has been tremendously lack-luster relative to the promises made in 2008, prior to election.  I might mention one thing—one object cannot occupy two places at the same time.  In other words, you can’t be in the Oval Office and on the golf course at the same time.   You can’t sit with Letterman, Steward, and the ladies on the View and pretend you are doing your job.  (Just a thought.)  OK, with that being said, how do we think Romney would do?

Not too optimistic are we?   I would offer a thought that things will not change with either being our next president.  Sill have the same old Congress.  

A whopping 87.9% of the engineers polled have a negative view-point of Congress.  And why not?   They are on vacation until November 13th.   With a 16 trillion dollar deficit, these birds are on vacation—seeing to their reelection.  I will say one thing—they certainly have a great deal in common with Alfred E. Newman—“what, me worry”?

60 Responses to “POLITICS OF THE ENGINEERING COMMUNITY”


  1. Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding
    It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I am hoping to offer one thing back and help others such
    as you helped me.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Cheap Prada, Thank you so much for the very kind comment AND for taking a look at my site. Hope you got “value-added” from the post. This one was fun to write. Please take care. Bob

      Like


  2. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to say that I have really loved browsing your weblog posts.

    After all I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello 30. I certainly appreciate you taking a look at my post. This is one of the most often-read post I have written. Apparently it has a great deal of appeal and timely at this point in the Presidential elections in the United States. Again, many thanks for taking a look and please do come again. Take care.

      Like


  3. This post offers clear idea in support of the new viewers of blogging, that in fact how to do running a blog.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Wiqotuta. I certainly appreciate the kind words and happy you enjoyed my post. I try very hard to make reading my posts beneficial because I hate wasting my reader’s time. Thank you so much for taking a look and please come back. “Politics” is a very very popular post. Take care. Bob J.

      Like


  4. May I just say what a comfort to discover somebody that actually knows what they’re talking about over the
    internet. You certainly know how to bring an issue to light and make it
    important. More people must check this out and understand
    this side of your story. It’s surprising you are
    not more popular since you surely possess the gift.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you very much Www. I certainly appreciate the very kind comments and do hope you will return. I certainly strive to make the blogs interesting AND informative. I have several other postings I am working on at this time. I try to get at least four per month but sometimes it is tough due to schedule. Take care.

      Like

  5. Google Says:

    Google

    Here is an excellent Blog You might Uncover Interesting that we encourage you to visit.

    Like


  6. Surprisingly challenging many thanks, I do believe your trusty subscribers could perhaps want even more stories like this keep up the terrific perform.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Genevie. Thank you so much for taking a look at my site. Also, really appreciate the very kind comments. This was a very interesting subject to me and I hope you enjoyed it. I certainly hope you will come back. Take care.

      Like

  7. RamRhnXtDE Says:

    Souls in the Waves

    Excellent Early morning, I just stopped in to go to your internet site and assumed I’d say I liked myself.

    Like


  8. I couldnt refrain from commenting. Very well written!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Mr. Woolford-I really appreciate you taking a look. You would not believe the number of favorable comments I have received from this post. Apparently readers really enjoy the topic. I suppose we all lover to read opinions, I know I certainly do. Again, many thanks and take care.

      Like

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Looking forward to reading more. Great blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Awesome.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Anonymous. I’m running a little behind with answering my comments for please forgive me. Also, thank you so much for taking a look at my site. Take care. Bob

      Like

  10. psn codes Says:

    Hi friend, I would like to tell you how much your post was actually useful to me. I had been excited to take the info you so generously posted and also put it to use. Your web blog posting really aided me and i also want to inform your dedicated audience how they really have someone that has their thoughts straight. Thanks once more for the superb write-up. I’ve bookmarked it on my favored internet bookmarking website and I suggest everyone else do the very same.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello PSN Codes. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. As you can see, my subject matter is fairly narrow. Most of my writing involves STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math ) subjects. I really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come back soon. Also, any suggestions you have for subjects matter will be greatly appreciated. Take care. Bob

      Like


  11. I really like what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and coverage! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.|
    corporate gifts under 5 dollars

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Corporate-I really appreciate you taking a look. You would not believe the number of favorable comments I have received from this post. Apparently readers really enjoy the topic. We all have opinions and the ones you read in this article fascinated me. Again, many thanks and take care.

      Like

  12. Lanora Trac Says:

    http://highqualitykidsbeanbagchairs.blogspot.com/ I’ve latterly started a site, the content you cater on this link has helped me staggeringly. Thanks for all of your example and learning.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to read my posting and hope they provide “value-added”. Take care. Bob

      Like


  13. Some truly wonderful posts on this internet site, regards for contribution. “The spirit is the true self.” by Marcus Tullius Cicero. prweb.com/releases/orange-county-seo-company/website-design-conversion/prweb10217157.htm/

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Jenise–Thank you so much and I’m really happy you enjoy what I have written. Makes me feel great to know someone is reading my postings.

      Like


  14. Here is a superb Weblog You may Uncover Intriguing that we Encourage You

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Melynda–Thank you for the kind comments. I thought this one would be an eye-opener. Glad you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

      Like


  15. Hello! Thank you for the perfect post. Please visit my website also http://www.agentxart.com Born in Kentucky and raised in Connecticut, Agent X artwork has been exhibited in London, La, and New york, has been featured on ART LA and absolutely reviewed in Arte Fuse and The Grid

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Contemport–Will do. I’m running a little behind in answering my e-mail but will look at your site. Also, many thanks for taking a look at mine.

      Like


  16. Wonderful article, definitely regret not heading for the USO style dinner. Keep up the fantastic function!

    Like

  17. country Says:

    one of our guests not too long ago proposed the following website

    Like


  18. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always helpful to read through articles from other writers and practice a little something from their web sites.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Zaklady==Please feel free to use any and all material you see in my post. Elanor Roosevelt said, “intelligent people talk about ideas, average people talk about events and below average people talk about people”. I really try to discuss ideas and provide value added for my readers. Please come again.

      Like


  19. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome web log! [url=http://breastactivesdigest.com/]breast actives[/url]

    Like


  20. Excellent site. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks to your sweat!

    Like

  21. o12 opinie Says:

    I similar to what you guys are cheery as well. Such clever work and reporting! Keep awake the superb installation guys I?ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I imagine it’ll recover the value of my site

    Like


  22. I have been browsing online greater than three hours nowadays, but I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. Itˇ¦s lovely price sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the net shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I ran across and article about politics and engineering, more specifically, what engineers “cling to” relative to the political process. I saw my self in the numbers. Many thanks for taking a look.

      Like


  23. Thanks for every other informative blog. Where else may I get that type of information written in such a perfect manner? I have a mission that I am simply now operating on, and I have been on the glance out for such info.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Rolety. Elanor Roosevelt said: ” Intelligent people talk about ideas, average people talk about events and below average people talk about people”. I really try to talk about ideas that provide value-added to my readers. Happy you came by and please do come again.

      Like

  24. info Says:

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Elanor Roosevelt said: ” Intelligent people talk about ideas, average people talk about events and below average people talk about people”. I really try to talk about ideas that provide value-added to my readers. Happy you came by and please do come again.

      Like


  25. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I don’t really do politics but this one was fun to write. The basic information came from a publication I subscribe to. Really happy you enjoyed the post. Please come again.

      Like


  26. Merely wanna say that this really is extremely valuable, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I don’t generally think of politics relative to the engineering community but we do have opinions and they are fascinating. Thank you for taking a look and I do hope you will come again.

      Like

  27. mind matter Says:

    Wohh just what I was looking for, thanks for putting up.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I found this one published in an engineering journal I read on a weekly basic. I thought it was quite interesting and basically nailed my political “bent” to a tee. Take care. B.

      Like


  28. yes, study is paying off. http://www.tyler-collins.com Wonderful views you’ve got here.. bats left

    Like

  29. lawfirm Says:

    I agree along with your believed. Thank you for the sharing.

    Like

  30. found it Says:

    The structure for your blog is a tad off in Epiphany. Even So I like your web site. I might need to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Found It. I have tried several browsers and, to your point, they do seem to “load up” in differing fashions. Take care and thank you for taking a look. B.

      Like


  31. Great post. I had been taking a look at continually this weblog website that i’m influenced! Extremely helpful information specifically the remaining period I sustain such data quite a bit. I had been in search of this kind of facts to acquire a prolonged moment. Thank you and greatest of very good fortune.

    Like


  32. I am so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Moises. The resource for this one was (as I recall ) Design News. It was fun to write but took some real thought. Many thanks for taking a look. Take care. B

      Like


What do you think?

