UNBROKEN

September 16, 2012


I just finished a marvelous book called “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand.   Published by Random House with copyright date of 2001.  Ms. Hillenbrand is also the author of Seabiscuit, another terrific book which became a movie three or four years ago .  Unbroken is about the life of Louis Zamperini from high school years until his death.  The primary chapters of the book concern his capture and incarceration in Japanese prison camps during the Second World War.    In 1942, Zamperini served in the Army Air Force (AAF) as a bombardier aboard a B-24 “Liberator”, also known as the “flying brick”.   His plane was named Super Man.   He was a member of flight crew number 8 in the nine-crew   372nd Bomb Squadron of the 307th Bomb Group, Seventh Air Force.  The first duty station for Zamperini and his crew was Hickam Field, Oahu were the war  had begun for Americans eleven months earlier.   The major portion of the book begins with the plane he was in , not Super Man,  ditching in the South Pacific and the flight crew’s remarkable survival at sea.  Shot down in the Pacific Theater,  Hillenbrand explains their situation as follows: “Slumped alongside him (Zamperini ) was a sergeant and one of his plane’s gunners while on a separate raft, tethered to the first, lay another  crewman, a gash zigzagging across  his forehead.  Their bodies burned by the sun and stained yellow from the raft dye, had withered down to skeletons.  Sharks glided in lazy loops around them, dragging their backs along the rafts, waiting.”  The rafts had floated at least 1,000 miles, deep into Japanese-controlled waters.  They were picked up by passing Japanese fishing boat.  While the crew had hoped for deliverance instead, they were turned over to Japanese captors who held them in various prison camps for the duration of the war.  After Hiroshima and Nagasaki, they were liberated by US forces.  The POWs were beaten mercilessly by their captors and many were judged and sentenced by military tribunals after the war for inhuman treatment to prisoners.   Imprisonment took a definite physical toll on Zamperini but also a significant mental toll; showing up only after he returned to the United States.  Hillenbrand details the demons Louis had to conquer to overcome aberrant behavior and a quick temper.     Daily nightmares were commonplace and the only way Louis fought back was by drowning  the inevitable  “visitors” in alcohol.  He became an alcoholic.  His marriage suffered, his children suffered and family kept away because his actions were so unpredictable.   An equally remarkable part of the story is how Zamperini overcame  his mental problems and how he spent the remainder of  his life after restoration to normal.

I can highly recommend this book to you.   The book is not fiction.  Many pictures of Zamperini, his flight crew and his family are given in the pages with supporting text indicating their importance.  It details the life of an Olympic runner, war hero, husband, father and most of all, a survivor who remained unbroken.

 

55 Responses to “UNBROKEN”

  1. My Homepage Says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More here: cielotech.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/unbroken/ […]

    Like

  2. seo Says:

    You’re so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve read through anything like that before. So great to discover another person with a few genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that is required on the web, someone with some originality!|
    seo http://www.singaporeinfocomm.sg/

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Seo–Thank you so much for your very kind comments. As you can see, my subject matter is fairly narrow. Most of my writing involves STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math ) subjects. Unbroken is actually a book review and is definitely one of the very best books I have ever read. Can certainly recommend it to you. I really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come back soon. Also, any suggestions you have for subjects matter will be greatly appreciated. Take care. Bob

      Like


  3. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thanks once again.|
    accounting software http://www.myob.com.sg/

    Like


  4. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price? Thank you, I appreciate it!|
    http://www.regus.com.sg/products/offices/serviced-offices.aspx http://www.regus.com.sg/products/offices/serviced-offices.aspx

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Regus. I post all of my writing through WordPress. They do a great job and have excellent support. I can certainly recommend them to you. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. As you can see, my subject matter is fairly narrow. Most of my writing involves STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math ) subjects. I really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come back soon. Also, any suggestions you have for subjects matter will be greatly appreciated. Take care. Bob

      Like

  5. psn codes Says:

    This is one of the better posts that we have examine. I am simply fascinated with exactly how smart you happen to be. As a result of your insite I had been able to take your information as well as apply this to our problem. Your posting was the excellent answer to my needs. If anybody wants this sort of information I’m going make certain to inform them to your site. I might also like to convey to all your readers that they’re fortunate to acquire this kind of tips. We enjoyed your post a lot that I appreciated this, tweeted it, subscribed, and saved it to my favorite social bookmarking website for later examining. Once more, i want to thank you for helping me with assisting us resolve my problem

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello PSN–Thank you so much for your very kind comments and taking a look at my website. Really appreciate you taking the time. Hope you will come back soon. Take care. B.

      Like

  6. Baju Bayi Says:

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about UNBROKEN | Cielotech Online .

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Baju, Sorry to be so long with my reply. I own a consulting firm and schedules have really been difficult. I have been blogging now for about three years. Word Press does a great job with their support so I can definitely recommend them to you. Really happy you enjoyed Unbroken. Great book.

      Like


  7. Great post, thanks for this information….

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello there. Happy you enjoyed Unbroken. One of the very best books I have read. I have another book report coming in about three days. Take care.

      Like


  8. I’m really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues? A handful of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue? breast actives scam http://breastactivesdigest.com/

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello there–yes, I have real issues with MS Outlook but none when I use Chrome. Now, I have Windows XP and not later versions of the MS Word so I am told that may be the problem. MS is stopping the support for XP next year so make sure you have a good anti-virus program in place if you have XP. Thank you for taking a look at my site.

      Like

  9. Julio Fett Says:

    Hy.

    I must recognize that the subject is not in the top of my interests lists but I find it very interesting.

    Your title ” UNBROKEN | Cielotech Online “ is what catch my interest, but I was a littel disapointed when I saw that your website ranking is not so good.

    To help you a littel with that, I got ahead and post a link to one of my website. But if you want more help with the ranking I suggest to check this : http://tinyurl.com/b5emwp6 you will find some high quality services and at a good price.

    P.S. To see I’m serious you can find the link that I was talking about ,the link to your website posted on one of my websites, here: http://www.toplevel-proxy.com/useful-links .

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you so much. Really happy you enjoyed this posting. Unbroken is a fascinating book and one I can definitely recommend to you. Take care.

      Like

  10. Nina Cantone Says:

    Thank you for any other fantastic post. The place else could anybody get that kind of info in such an ideal approach of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such information.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Many thanks Nina. Really appreciate the kind words and do hope you will come again. Elanor Roosevelt said: ” Intelligent people talk about ideas, average people talk about events and below average people talk about people”. I really try to talk about ideas that provide my readers with value-added. Happy you came by.

      Like


  11. I love your writing style truly loving this website .

    Like

  12. profollica Says:

    Thank you for your great job !

    Like

  13. IggyBank Says:

    *Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!wow gold

    Like


  14. It’s hard to uncover knowledgeable folks on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Richa–I write only about subject I know first-hand and ALWAYS detail my sources so my readers can go take a look. I think giving credit is the way to go. Many thanks for taking a look and please do come again.

      Like

  15. game repair Says:

    Hi, this is a well written post. I just bookmarked your site. To be truthful, although I read a lot in this area. I still picked up quite a lot today. Kindly continue the amazingly good post and I will tell my friends about it.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Game Repair–Thank you for your visit and I certainly hope you will come again. I’m running behind in my posting but should have a few new articles within the next week or so. Take care. B

      Like

  16. xbox repair Says:

    just posted this article on facebook. it is an interesting read for everyone.

    Like

  17. Link Says:

    MoneyWell is awesome hands down. With a mac app and soon-to-be-released Dropbox sync, it\’s \”buckets\” concept is getting even butter. Clean polished interface too.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Unbroked us absolute fact and written by the POW discussed in the book. I can definitely recommend it to you. Thanks for taking a look at my site and please do come again. B.

      Like


  18. Really a nice post. Thx for this article

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Hampaiden. This was one of the very best books I read all year. Factual in every way, it was the experience of a WWII POW. Very riviting. Plase come back for another visit.

      Like

  19. www Says:

    I almost accidentally visited to this site, but stayed here for a long time. Stayed because everything was very interesting. Surely will share with all my friends!…

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hell WWW. Many thanks and I definitely hope you come again. I’m a little behind in my posting due to work load and schedule but will have additional articles coming soon. Take care and again, many thanks.

      Like

  20. Coupons Says:

    You can find some fascinating closing dates on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity nevertheless I’ll take maintain opinion until I appear into it further. Great post , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to read my posting and hope they provide “value-added”. Take care. Bob

      Like

  21. zijapowerhealth.com Says:

    this was a genuinely excellent post. In theory I’d prefer to write like this also – taking time and real work to create a superb report. Really what I necessary. Thanks I’ve been searching for this kind of information for any lengthy time.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      This was a marvelous marvelout book and a true story. I was struck by the honesty indicated in the pages. So happy you enjoyed the posting and certainly hope you will come again. B.

      Like

  22. RV Storage Says:

    Hey dude. what kind of wordpress theme are you utilizing? i want it to use on my blog as well ,

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello RV–I am using the theme called “EMIRE” by Phy Lu. I love it. You would not believe how many nice comments I get with this as my background. Take care and thanks for looking at my site.

      Like


  23. Quite nice post. I lately discovered your weblog and also wished to point out that I’ve actually cherished searching the weblog web page articles. All items viewed as I’ll be subscribing towards the feed and I we do hope you build as soon as once more swiftly!

    Like


  24. Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this site.|

    Like


  25. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Descagar. Unbroken was one of the very best books I have read recently AND all fact, no fiction. I definitely can recommend this to you. Again, many thanks .

      Like

  26. Alva Rutana Says:

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Alva. Unbroken was definitely one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. I can certainly recommend it to you. Thank you so much for taking a look at my site.

      Like

  27. cielotech Says:

    Hello there,

    Many thanks for the kind comments. Unbroken was a marvelous book and one I can definitely recommend. Take care and again, thank you for visiting my site. B.

    Like


  28. Thanks so much for giving everyone such a superb possiblity to read articles and blog posts from this blog. It’s always so superb and also jam-packed with a good time for me and my office mates to visit your site nearly 3 times weekly to see the new items you have. Not to mention, I am usually pleased with all the splendid opinions you serve. Certain 2 points in this article are particularly the best I’ve ever had. I’m 1daycarinsurance.ws. Posted by 1daycarinsurance.ws.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Alfonso. This was a fabulous book and one I can certainly recommend to you. True story of a POW during WWII and the trials he faced during his imprisonment. Great book. Thank you also for taking a look at my postings. Take care. B.

      Like


  29. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was once a amusement account it. Look complicated to more introduced agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      pelnomocnik ds–One of the very best books I have ever read. Great subject matter and a compelling character. This guy really did experience the terrible happenings given in the book. Many thanks==Bob

      Like


What do you think?

