ACCOMODATING TECHNOLOGY

June 12, 2012


Several days ago I scheduled a short trip to visit a prospective client in Cumming, Georgia.  I knew that Cumming was just north of Atlanta but needed to know what exit to take off of I-75 south.  Needing gas anyway, I stopped at my local BP to fill up AND purchase a Georgia map.  I was somewhat surprised when the attendant told me they no longer sold maps.  “Everyone has a GPS now, no need for maps anymore” was his reply.

 I suppose everyone on the planet has seen the YouTube video of the lady walking while texting.  She is at a mall; absolutely absorbed in the process while heading towards a fountain “planted” in her direct path.  In she goes –head first.   Fortunately, she was not physically injured but I’m sure her pride was definitely affected.  (By the way, she sued the mall for not posting signs indicating the position of the fountain and for releasing the video.  I have no idea if she won or lost. )

These two examples illustrate how technology is affecting our behavior and how we modify our behavior to make accommodations, necessary or otherwise.  One of the biggest problems we have in Tennessee is texting while driving.  The death rate on our highways elevates each year due to this dangerous practice.  I would hazard a guess that none of the messages sent while driving are critical and could certainly wait until the automobile is stationary.   Technology seems to dictate making us the slave and not the master.   Seemingly, we lose control when these communication devices are available.  The urgency does not escape us and we react. 

Our two oldest grandchildren, ages twenty and eighteen, spend hours each week on Facebook.  They both have hundreds of friends, not to mention family, they communicate with on a weekly basis.   I have actually been in their presence as they talk to each other, using Facebook, while sitting on the same couch.  Go figure.   Psychologists in the United States indicate there are 350 million (yes million) people addicted to Face book.  This addition is called F.A.D or Face book Addictive Disorder.  I strongly suspect there is a comparable addiction to Twitter and YouTube. 

Another incredible advance, linking your smart phone with your PC.  This allows you to receive e-mail on your “mobile” while away from the office.  Now I really like this one except for the fact that I’m always working—always!  There never seems to be a waking hour that I am not on call.  This means I am always “reachable” and people expect a return message, night or day.   This, as you might expect, can be a real pain and there no longer is the excuse, “I was away from the office.”

I think behavioral modification first came with the Home Shopping Network, then e-Bay, then Amazon, now Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.  I can’t imagine what might be next but it seems to me millions of hours are blown away each year as we allow these technologies to overtake our lives.  Remarkable and useful as they are, should we not be involved with more meaningful pursuits?  If we don’t do otherwise, would we all be more than wet?  Just a thought.

9 Responses to “ACCOMODATING TECHNOLOGY”


  1. I am a loyal reader but i dont like to comment normally,
    but today i just thought i would let you know my thanks.
    cheers!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Mikaelferreira. Thank you for being a loyal reader and I certainly appreciate your comments. I love to hear from people and find out what they enjoy relative to subject matter. Really appreciate you being a frequent visitor. Take care.

      Like


  2. Bravo! A post definitly worth a worthy comment, thanks.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hey there. I certainly appreciate the very kind remarks. Thank you so much for taking a look at my site. Please come again. Bob

      Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello XN–Thank you so much for the very kind comments. Sorry I’m so tardy in responding to your comment. I have had problems with my computer. All fixed now and ready to go again. Again, many thanks and please come again. Bob

      Like

  3. d3 items Says:

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

    Like

  4. a vitamin Says:

    Real fantastic information can be found on this web site.

    Like


What do you think?

