THE BEST ENGINEERING MOVIES

December 22, 2011


THE BEST ENGINEERING MOVIES

My wife and I love a good movie although we have some differences when defining the word “good”.  She generally leans towards spy vs. spy thrillers and light-hearted movies involving interpersonal relationships; i.e. “chick-flicks”.  I like more Si-Fi and action-filled yarns involving mechanical equipment and battlefield scenes.  I will purchase a ticket to a grade “B” movie just to see the animation and computer graphics.  I am absolutely amazed at the processes that must be involved in making a movie such as “Transformers”.  Hour upon hour of computer work necessary to bring about this type of movie to the “big screen”.  How the actors interact with the animation is truly fascinating to me.  With this being the case, what do you think are the very best “engineering” movies?  The ones that demonstrate equipment designs having come about due to significant engineering effort and program management planning.  Given below is my list.

  • “Minority Report”
  • “The Right Stuff”
  • “October Sky”
  • “Apollo 13”
  • “Transformers”
  • “Iron Man”
  • “Terminator”
  • “Star Wars”
  • “Flight of the Phoenix”
  • “Alien”
  • “Mission Impossible”
  • “2001-A Space Odyssey”
  • “James Bond”
  • “District 9”
  • “Close Encounters of the Third Kind”
  • “Back to the Future”
  • “ET”
  • “The Day the Earth Stood Still”
  • “The Matrix”
  • “Blade Runner”
  • “Cowboys and Aliens”

I’m sure you can add several I have forgotten or probably not seen.  Having five grandchildren, I also get a generous “dose” of kid-type animated movies that are just as impressive as the ones listed above.   The hardware and software needed to provide content is tremendously impressive.  If you have the time, make your own list.

62 Responses to “THE BEST ENGINEERING MOVIES”

  1. optok Says:

    Marvelous, what a webpage it is! This webpage provides helpful facts to us,
    keep it up.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello OPTOK. Thank you for your very kind comment. I really enjoyed this one. I have a longer list of movies for engineering types but you can only write so much. Hope you will come again. Take care.

      Like

  2. FIFA55 Says:

    Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so
    many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any suggestions? Kudos!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      FIFA55. Best recommendation–START RIGHT NOW. Choose a subject matter and have at it. I definitely recommend WordPress to you . It’s a marvelous host and the support is outstanding. Thank you for your very kind comment. Hope you will come again. Take care.

      Like

  3. link Says:

    Thanks , I have recently been looking for information about this subject for a long time and yours is the best I have discovered so far.
    But, what about the bottom line? Are you certain about
    the source?

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Link. I certainly read the book and felt it was an excellent example of “word-smithing””.” Lenord has a way of linking thoughts that is somewhat unconventional but effective. This is the first Lenord book I have read so I don’t have too much perspective on his total works. This is the reason I included comments from other readers. Most were complementary but there were a few that were not that impressed with this one. Many thanks for taking a look at my site. Take care. B

      Like


  4. Currently it looks like Expression Engine is the preferred
    blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Watch. Thank you so much for your very kind comment. I am using WordPress as my blogging platform. I can definitely recommend them to you. Their support is excellent. I certainly hope you will come again. Take care. Bob

      Like


  5. I got this website from my friend who told me on the topic of
    this web page and now this time I am browsing this web page and
    reading very informative posts at this place.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Logan. Thank you so much for taking a look. I really try to provide posts that are interesting and have information provided. Mostly the STEM (science, technology,engineering and math) professions but occasionally items of personal interest, such as this one. Again, many many thanks. Take care. Bob

      Like


  6. Your method of explaining everything in this piece of writing is actually pleasant,
    all be capable of effortlessly know it, Thanks a lot.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello 1stpharm review. This is a little light-hearted but fun to write. Many thanks for the very kind comments. I’m certainly happy you took a look and please come again. Take care.

      Like

  7. Desiree Says:

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed
    reading it, you’re a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog
    and definitely will come back someday. I want to encourage you to continue
    your great work, have a nice day!

    Like


  8. I am genuinely delighted to glance at this webpage posts which includes
    lots of helpful information, thanks for providing these data.

    Like


  9. The Breville BJE510XL is chiefly made of three main pieces that can be put together with remarkably
    little effort. All of the parts are easily removed and are made of an easy-to-clean material.
    Families probably want to consider a larger juicer.

    Like


  10. Hey there! I’ve been following your weblog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the good work!
    michael eebest8

    Like


  11. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Charming–Thank you so much for the very kind words. I definitely hope you will come back and take another look. I love writing these posts and hopefully readers will find value-added. Again, many thanks.

      Like


  12. fantastic post, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this.

    You must proceed your writing. I am sure, you have a great readers’ base
    already!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Ab–Thank you so much for the very kind words. I definitely hope you will come back and take another look. I love writing these posts and hopefully readers will find value-added. Again, many thanks.

      Like

  13. ChariotWithBoosterPack Says:

    1. bicentennial man
    2. the time machine
    3. apollo 13
    4. 2001: space odyssey
    5. the avengers
    6. robocop
    7. pacific rim
    8. star trek
    9. the imitation game
    10. contact

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello ChariotWithBoosterP. Thank your for sending me your list. I certainly agree–these are great movies. I had fun with this one. Thank you also for logging in to my post. Take care. B.

      Like

  14. employment Says:

    employment

    […]although internet websites we backlink to beneath are considerably not associated to ours, we really feel they’re actually worth a go via, so have a look[…]

    Like


  15. Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts. Any way I will be subscribing for your feeds or even I achievement you access constantly fast.|
    siamcolumbus.com/ http://siamcolumbus.com/

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you Siamcolumbus. I love the movies and movies involving technology. One note; if you see only one movie this year, see “Gravity”. Great flick. Take care and thank you for taking a look at my site.

      Like


  16. Thank you a lot for providing individuals with a very remarkable chance to read critical reviews from this web site. It is often very terrific and jam-packed with a great time for me personally and my office colleagues to visit your web site at a minimum thrice every week to learn the new items you have. Of course, I’m also actually satisfied with the dazzling guidelines you serve. Some 2 points in this post are undoubtedly the most effective I have had. http://www.prweb.com/releases/orange-county-seo-company/website-design-conversion/prweb10217157.htm

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Daniell–“The Best Engineering Movies” was fun to write. Took some research but definitely one of the more fun topics I have written about.

      Like

  17. Adena Boyan Says:

    What my spouse and i don’t understood is within truth how you are no longer actually much more smartly-appreciated than you may be now. You are incredibly intelligent. You may have learned therefore significantly in terms of this topic, made me personally for my part envision it from a great deal of numerous sides. Its like males and females are not necessarily interested except it’s something to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your particular person stuffs exceptional. All time handle the idea up!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Adena–Thank you so much for your kind comments. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to read my posting and hope they provide “value-added”. This one was fun to write. Take care. Bob

      Like


  18. Hiya! Where did you download layout of your blog? It is pretty amazing 😀

    Like


  19. I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way to the top as well. I absolutely liked reading all that is posted on your website.Keep the stories coming. I enjoyed it!

    Like


  20. Every time I come back here again and don`t get disappointed..!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Margarette–I hope you come back and back and back. Thank you for taking a look at my site. I have been blogging now for about three (3) years and find it a good way to be not only creative but informative. I stay with fairly narrow subject matter; i.e. technology and personal improvement but that’s ok. I had much rather have readers who go for quality rather than quantity. Again, many thanks. Take care.

      Like


  21. Excellent post, mate! Thanks for the useful information

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Elanor Roosevelt said: ” Intelligent people talk about ideas, average people talk about events and below average people talk about people”. I really try to talk about ideas that provide value-added to my readers. Happy you came by and please do come again.

      Like


  22. Hello! I’d want to make a huge thumbs as much as the great details you may have right here inside this post. I’ll be returning to your weblog for more soon.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Loan. Thank you so much and do come again. I am about to launch another two or three postings within the next week or so. My schedule has really been tough for the past several days so running a little behind. Take care and again, many thanks.

      Like

  23. www Says:

    I must admit, the webmaster has written cool..!

    Like

  24. ranking Says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your weblog by way of Google, and located that it’s genuinely informative. I¡¦m gonna watch out for brussels. I¡¦ll appreciate should you continue this in future. A great deal of folks might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  25. click Says:

    You made a few good points there. I did a search on the subject and found a good number of folks will consent with your blog.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      There are certainly other good engineering movies but these are some of the best. Hope you will continue taking a look at my posting. Please come again. Take care.

      Like


  26. New to your blog. Stumbled upon it browsing the internet. Maintain up the great function. I am hoping you update it regularly.

    Like

  27. cash advance Says:

    Hi, very best wishes to you as well as your really great blog,

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      We all love the movies and these actually stand out relative to the engineering profession. Thank you for taking a look at my site. I stay with fairly narrow subject matter; i.e. technology and personal improvement but that’s ok. I had much rather have readers who go for quality rather than quantity. Again, many thanks. Take care.

      Like

  28. MBT schuhe Says:

    I like it when individuals come together and share views. Great blog, continue the good work!

    Like

  29. Basiezz Says:

    Thanks for discussing your ideas in this article. The other point is that when a problem appears with a laptop motherboard, people today should not have some risk connected with repairing the item themselves for if it is not done properly it can lead to permanent damage to all the laptop. It is usually safe to approach your dealer of a laptop for your repair of that motherboard. They will have technicians who’ve an expertise in dealing with mobile computer motherboard issues and can make right prognosis and accomplish repairs.

    Like

  30. Going Here Says:

    As soon as I found this web site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

    Like


  31. Keep functioning ,terrific job!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      pelnomocnik ds–My wife and I love the movies so I thought I would write this post on what are considered to be the best movies using technology and engineering. You would not believe the number of very positive comments I have had. Apparently, everyone loves the movies. Many thanks for reading my work.

      Like

  32. 抓姦 Says:

    Thanks I finally came to a website where the webmaster knows what they’re talking about. Do you know how many results are in Google when I search.. too many! It’s so irritating having to go through page after page after page, wasting my day away with thousands of owners just copying eachother’s articles… bah. Anyway, thanks for the information anyway, much obliged.

    Like


  33. awesome! i get pleasure from reading this type of stuff everytime i can get towards the laptop or computer

    Like

  34. cielotech Says:

    I am certainly happy you liked my blog. Sometimes it is good to have a little fun while writing. Take care and I hope you come back.

    Bob

    Like


  35. This is really enjoyed for visiting the nice info in this blog and great technology in this blog and I had really
    like it very much for providing the great technology in this blog

    Like


What do you think?

