ENGINEERING SALARY SURVEY

May 24, 2011


ENGINEERING SALARY SURVEY

Data for this document was taken from “Machine Design”, April 21, 2011.  The comments relative to the data are mine. Sometimes stinging but definitely mine.

Every year the “Machine Design” magazine publishes a salary survey for practicing engineers and engineering managers.    This survey provides basic compensation averages for various engineering disciplines relative to geographic locations within the United States.   This year, 1126 respondents answered the questionnaire providing the basis for comparison.    We have good news in that engineering salaries and employment rates were on the upswing and certainly better than 2010. At this writing, the unemployment rate was approximately 8.8% with engineering unemployment around 7%. The average engineering salary, for all disciplines, was $83,767.00.  This figure is approximately 4% higher than the $80,760 for the 2010 year.    Salaries rose for 56% of the respondents with the majority receiving between 1% and 5% increases.  Only 6% experienced a salary drop.  Let us take a look at salary averages by job title:

  • System Engineers:: $78K
  • System Engineering Managers:: $81K
  • Senior Engineer::$90K
  • Consulting Engineer:: $82K
  • Department Head::$115K
  • Project Engineer::$70K
  • Team Leader::$111K
  • Software Engineer::$70K
  • Software Manager::$120K
  • Manufacturing Engineer::$70K
  • Manufacturing Manager::$70K
  • CEO, President, Owner::$114K
  • QC, Evaluation Engineer::$65K
  • R&D Director::$100K
  • Test Technician::$65K
  • VP of Engineering::$112K

Please keep in mind that these are composite averages for all engineering disciplines.  Now let’s look at what specialties and regions get the big bucks.

2011 SALARIES BY INDUSTRY

  • Computer and IT Technology::$90K
  • Electrical Equipment & Component:: $82K
  • Fabricated Metal  Manufacturing::$82K
  • Machinery Manufacturing::$79K
  • Medical Equipment::$95K
  • Transportation Equipment::$81K

Several states in the New England area win the blue ribbon for highest regional salaries:

2011 SALARIES BY REGION

  • New York and Pennsylvania::$80K
  • Intermountain States::$81K
  • VT, MASS, RI, NH::$99K
  • Pacific Coast States::$90K
  • Coastal Southeast::$80K
  • Southeast and Southwest::$81K

I am stating the obvious when I say engineering is not the highest paying profession on the planet.  I am stating, as a working engineer, that it is the most rewarding profession on the planet.  (Of course I’m more than a little biased in that opinion.) It can be a very very exciting way to earn a living simply due to the act of continuous discovery.  The big “downer” is the movement of R&D, manufacturing and invention “offshore”.  There will come a time when our great country will realize that we can no longer do anything.  Look at the technology that has “drifted away” over the past two decades:

  • Textiles
  • Leather goods; i.e. shoes, belts, handbags, etc.
  • Production of electronic “chips”
  • Memory devices and storage
  • Cameras
  • Sound equipment, i.e. tuners, amps, speakers, etc
  • Television sets
  • DVDs
  • Toys
  • Tools and dies

The list does go on and on.  We are even in the process of relinquishing our dominance relative to manned space craft.  In a few weeks we will be relying on the Soviets to haul equipment and people to the space station.   Next will come medical equipment, then publishing, then legal—the list goes on and on.  For the very first time in our country’s history, the number of government employees (22 million) exceeds the number of manufacturing jobs.  We are moving into an era in which it will be necessary to talk a good game instead of play a good game.   Who knows, maybe we are there already.

88 Responses to “ENGINEERING SALARY SURVEY”


  1. You are incredible!!Thanx with regard to giving fantastic info.Keep sharing such facts in future also.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Windows 7. I certainly appreciate the kind words and happy you enjoyed my post. I try very hard to make reading my posts beneficial because I hate wasting my reader’s time. Thank you so much for taking a look and please come back. Take care. Bob J.

      Like

  2. WilliamSTEX Says:

    Hi, people. I’ve read across this site and find a lot of useful information. So many good people here. Thanks, guys.

    discount ketoconazole , ciprofloxacin online , discount gabapentin

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you WilliamSTEX. I really really try to post information that is value-added so my readers come away without feeling they waste their time. Hope I’ve done that in your case. Take care.

      Like


  3. Well it is an incredibly good write-up.Thanx for sharing this type of info here.I really hope you certainly will continue enlightening folks in future as well,by way of this sort of helpful information.Continue the good work.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Darell–Thank you so much for your very kind comments. The Engineering Salary Survey is one the most read posts I have written. Everyone is interesting in how they “stack up” with their peers. Really hope you will come again. Take care. B.J.

      Like


  4. Wonderful website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked
    about here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get advice from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

    Kudos!|

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Darmowy. The only other discussion boards I know of relative to the subject matter I write about exist on Linkedin and Design News Daily. I log in to these daily and can certainly recommend them to you. Thank you so much for taking a look at my blog. Take care.

      Like

  5. Clive Says:

    I have read your blog and really like the content, keep up the posts as I will be back.
    http://website132.com/
    Look at my site

    Like


  6. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back someday. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Magdlene. You would not believe the interest people have in knowing their “going rate”. This one was fun to write and I’m gratified so many people have read the posting. This has been one of the most-read blogs I have ever written. Take care.

      Like


  7. Hi there very nice web page! Dude. Gorgeous. Excellent. Let me bookmark your web site and consider the bottles in addition? I’m very happy to look for so many useful information throughout the particular release, we really wish for determine additional associated with the following regard, appreciate your revealing.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Dwdem. Thank you so much for your very kind comments and please do come again. Also, engineering salary survey is one the most-visited postings I have done. Must have made a point somewhere. Again, many thanks.

      Like


  8. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always exciting to read through articles from other writers and practice something from other sites.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Garciniacambogiadang. Thank you so much for the kind comment and taking a look at my posting. Everyone seems to really enjoy the information in “Engineering Salary Survey”. It’s one of the most read posting I have ever written. I’m running a little behind in answering my mail so I appreciate your patience. Take care.

      Like

  9. 5wW1vi Says:

    807056 372285I like this post quite considerably. I will surely be back. Hope that I can go by way of far more insightful posts then. Will likely be sharing your wisdom with all of my pals! 896162

    Like


  10. Hiya I think this blog is amazing place to quality resources, I am going to follow you keep the descriptive posts coming and I’ll keep returning back.

    Like


  11. I just added this web site to my google reader, great stuff. Can not get enough!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I have had more favorable comments on engineering education and engineering salary survey than any posts I have written. We are talking about three (3) years of writing. Must be a good topics. I definitely intend to continue writing on these issues. Many thanks and please come again.

      Like


  12. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality websites on
    the net. I’m going to recommend this website!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello ebfriends. Thank you so much for the very kind comments. I have had more favorable comments on engineering education and engineering salaries than any posts I have written. We are talking about three (3) years of writing. Must be a good topics. I definitely intend to continue writing on these subjects. Many thanks and please come again.

      Like


  13. Thanks, I’ve recently been looking for details about this topic for ages and yours is the best I have found so far.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Tesco. I have had more favorable comments on engineering education and engineering salaries than any posts I have written. We are talking about three (3) years of writing. Must be a good topics. I definitely intend to continue writing on these subjects. Many thanks and please come again.

      Like


  14. I just added this blog to my rss reader, excellent stuff. Can not get enough!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to read my posting and hope they provide “value-added”. Take care. Bob

      Like


  15. Music began playing anytime I opened this blog, so annoying!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Dite==I have no idea as to why this happened. I have never embedded video or music into my postings–and will never do so. You might check your system as I have checked mine.

      Like


  16. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this website on regular basis to get updated from newest news.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Elektrikli==Engineering Graduation Rates, Engineering Education and Engineering Salary Survey are BY FAR the most commented post I have ever written. Really happy you dropped by and please do come again. Thank you for the very kind comments also.

      Like


  17. Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of information on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg
    it and personally recommend to my friends. I am
    sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments and please do recommend me to your friends. I try to provide “value-added” to my posts. The subject matter is somewhat limited and focused but “thinking” people such as yourself seem to appreciate the work I do.

      Like


  18. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?

    My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would genuinely
    benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks a lot!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Security–Please feel free to use and quote my articles as you see fit. Really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will be a frequent visitor. Take care.

      Like


  19. Thanks , I have recently been searching for information about this subject for a long time and yours is the
    greatest I’ve found out till now. However, what concerning the bottom line? Are you certain about the source?

    Like

  20. Tera Says:

    This excellent website certainly has all of the
    information and facts I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Tera, Thank you for you kind comments. Really happy you enjoyed my post. I try to follow engineering education and the profession itself. Again, many thanks. B.

      Like


  21. I am extremely impressed with your writing talents as well as with the
    layout to your blog. Is that this a paid subject
    or did you customize it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing,
    it’s uncommon to see a great blog like this one today..

    Like


  22. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning
    this post and the rest of the website is really good.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I make every effort to keep up with engineering, technology and engineering salary surveys. Really happy you enjoyed the post and I hope it provided value-added. Take care.

      Like


  23. Keep on working, great job!

    Like

  24. Laurel Says:

    Great blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What
    web host are you using? Can I get your affiliate
    link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

    Like


  25. I do not even know how I ended up right here, however I
    thought this submit used to be good. I do not realize who you might
    be but definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t
    already. Cheers!

    Like


  26. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

    Like


  27. Thank you for every other informative website. Where else may just I get
    that type of information written in such a perfect means?
    I’ve a project that I am simply now running on, and I’ve been at
    the glance out for such information.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Elanor Roosevelt said: ” Intelligent people talk about ideas, average people talk about events and below average people talk about people”. I really try to talk about ideas and try to provide value-added. Happy you came by and please come again.

      Like

  28. Charlene Says:

    If some one desires to be updated with latest technologies afterward he must be pay
    a quick visit this web page and be up to date every day.

    Like


  29. If some one wants to be updated with most recent technologies afterward he
    must be pay a quick visit this web site and be up to date all the time.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I follow engineer education and the professions on a regular basis and will continue to report on salary surveys. Please come back for another look.

      Like


  30. I have read a few good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how much effort you put to make such a wonderful informative
    site.

    Like


  31. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from
    an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own
    but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks

    Like


  32. Hello mates, its wonderful paragraph concerning educationand completely defined,
    keep it up all the time.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I follow the engineering profession closely and will publish additional salary surveys as they come available. Take care and thank you for you comments.

      Like


  33. This is a topic which is near to my heart.
    .. Take care! Where are your contact details though?

    Like


  34. Hi there very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .
    . Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally? I’m glad to find a lot of helpful information right here in the
    put up, we need develop extra techniques on this regard,
    thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    Like


  35. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web site,
    for the reason that i want enjoyment, as this this website conations really
    nice funny data too.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Garcinia. I generally write and post on the weekends because my weeks are really full. I own an engineering consulting firm and time really flies when you put in a 70 hour week–then some. I am certainly happy you enjoy my work. Please do come again.

      Like


  36. Wow, superb blog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?

    you make running a blog glance easy. The overall look of your web
    site is wonderful, let alone the content material!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I have been blogging for about three years now and find it does not get any easier. I have no difficulties in finding subjects to write about because our world is absolutely fascinating ( to me anyway ) The big problem is finding time. I own an engineering consulting firm and the days seem to pass so quickly. Thank you for taking a look.

      Like


  37. Hi are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello “How”. I can definitely recommend you start blogging and I definitely suggest using Word Press as your host. These folks do a marvelous job with their site and managing the hundreds of articles that come their way each day. Take care plunge.

      Like


  38. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you could be
    a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog
    and will eventually come back later on. I want
    to encourage that you continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

    Like


  39. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your webpage? My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from
    some of the information you present here. Please
    let me know if this ok with you. Thanks a lot!

    Like


  40. You definitely put a new spin on a subject that’s been written about for years. Incredible stuff, just great! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think, thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well. If you have a chance check out my site business information.

    Like

  41. Kaitlyn Says:

    Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my website thus i got here to return the desire?
    .I am attempting to find issues to enhance my web site!
    I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your ideas!
    !

    Like


  42. This is a outstanding piece of writing as usual buddie

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you so much. I follow engineering, engineering education and the salary survey published each year. It’s always a moving target but fun to watch for a “blue-collar” engineer like me. Again, many thanks.

      Like


  43. I think this is one of the most important information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Many thanks for very kind words. So happy you find my work providing “value-added” to you efforts. I have three posting I will make this week so please come again. Take care. B.

      Like


  44. Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may return once again since
    I book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Conversational. I do a great deal of reading on engineering and engineering education so the salary survey fit right in with my goals for publishing. I’m really happy it provided “value-added” and I will definitely continue to wright about this subject. Take care. B

      Like


  45. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted
    at this website is truly good.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Process. Many thanks for the very kind words and I certainly hope you will remain a frequent visitor. I have several other posting in the works that I feel you will enjoy. Again, many thanks.

      Like


  46. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I’m
    hoping to give a contribution & help different customers like its aided me.
    Good job.

    Like


  47. In the event it will come to writing beneficial content material you absolutely know your stuff,
    high five from me! ! ! !

    Like


  48. In the event it comes to publishing good content material you absolutely are the jedi, congrats!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello London Plumber–So happy you enjoyed the posting and certainly hope you will return for another look. Also, love London. One of the greatest cities on the globe. My family is from England and Scotland. My wife’s family is from Ireland. Again, many thanks for taking a look. B.

      Like

  49. website Says:

    You hit the nail on the head with a terrific write-up with a bit of fantastic info

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello website. You have a fascinating web site and one I will definitely take a look at on a daily basis. Thank you reading “Engineering Salary Survey”. Hope you enjoyed it and others. Take care. B

      Like

  50. 5 mistakes Says:

    Your site is pretty interesting to me and your topics are very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of blog managers are doing these 5 errors”. http://is.gd/8IvkQ3 You will be suprised how easy they are to fix.

    Like


What do you think?

