ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL??????

September 14, 2010


ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL?

If you live in the southeast its God, Country, Family and Football—not always in that order!  Football is “KING”.  On any one given Saturday, the twelve teams of the Southeastern Conference ( SEC ) will host at least 75,000 screaming fans for the weekend ritual.  My school, The University of Tennessee at Knoxville, will seat 104,000 orange-clad fanatics week after week and the stands are absolutely full.  The very same is true for Alabama, Georgia, LSU, Florida, etc etc.  You get the picture.   There are several very interesting facts relative to the SEC football “machine”.  Take a look:

  • The SEC has produced four (4 ) straight BCS national championship teams.
  • According to the U.S. Department of Education’s Equity in Athletics data base, six (6) of the nation’s top nine (9) producers of gross football revenue reside in the SEC. ( Texas and Ohio State are number one and two respectively. )
  • The SEC has five (5) of the top ten (10) net football revenue producing organizations.
  • 80 to 85 percent of the revenue for any SEC school is produced by the football program. ( Men’s basketball contributes the remainder. )
  • In the SEC, seven (7) of nine (9) league stadiums will hold at least 80,000 people.
  • Multimillion dollar amounts of money are spent annually on stadium additions and renovations.  UT Knoxville is spending $200 million on renovations this year—adding additional corporate sky boxes and a gourmet restaurant. ( I think gourmet might be stretching it a bit .  Can you say chicken wings??????)

SEC football is big ( very big ) business.  Any wonder that the University of Alabama can afford to pay Nick Saban and annual salary of $4 ++++ million dollars?  Then again, Mr. Saban took Alabama to a national championship last year.  Maybe he should run for public office.  UT has a new head coach; we only pay him $1.2 million.  I know for a fact that one of our former graduates; i.e. Mr. John ( Thunder ) Thornton paid a cool $1.00 million just to run through the “T” prior to the game.  With the economy being such as it is, I wonder if John would like to have some of that money back.  He is in commercial real estate.   

One of the most fascinating books I have ever read was “The Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire”.  I think we can draw several very interesting parallels between Rome and the United States.  Let’s take a look:

  • The Roman government definitely deployed too many troops in far too many distant lands.  The cost for doing so was tremendous.  Rome conquered great portions of the known world and felt the need to protect what they had conquered from encroaching forces.
  • The corruption in government was tremendous.  Senators and petty politicians on the take pressing every advantage.
  • A huge immigrant population that needed protection, work, housing etc etc. which Rome was happy to supply because they provided a cheap labor force.
  • The citizens of Rome loved their games.  LOVED THEIR GAMES!  They became the reason for living.  ( This is where the SEC and football comes in.) I will say that soccer (football ) in the remainder of the world is equal to football in this country relative to passion.

Our kids can’t read beyond fifth grade level but we did go to the game on Saturday.   Where are our priorities?  With this in mind, I have several changes I would like to make to our educational system below the college level.  These are as follows:

  • Let’s initiate Saturday classes, at least until noon. 
  • A complete emphasis on “reading, writing and arithmetic” until a child reaches secondary school.  Absolutely no JUNK courses!!!  Then we add a few electives.
  • Let’s evaluate a school based upon education and not the success of their  athletic program.
  • All children in grammar school MUST take Latin, at least two years.
  • All children in high school must have four years of a foreign language and must show proficiency in that language prior to graduation.
  • All high school children MUST, for one summer session, travel abroad to a non-English speaking country.
  • All middle school student MUST have a basic understanding of the Periodic Table of Elements and why they are so important.
  • All high school students MUST ( at least ) know the great men and women of science and how they contributed to society in general.
  • All graduating high school students MUST understand how our great country came to be and those men and women who fought so bravely to establish our nation.
  • All students MUST take physical education EACH year of their attendance for grammar, middle and high school.  These exercises WILL produce sweat——-NO EXCEPTIONS.
  • All students must master a musical instrument.
  • All high school students MUST have a least one course in art history.
  • All students MUST have at least one course in ancient history.
  • All students MUST master the very basics of mathematics and mathematical theory.
  • All graduating seniors WIll know a trade; i.e roofing, plumbing, carpentry, etc etc.  In other words, be prepared for eventualities.
  • All graduating students WILL understand the very basics of finance and be able to write a check and balance a check book.
  • All graduating students will have a basic understanding of the various stock markets of the world.

I could go on for a couple of days but you get the picture.  We are spending entirely too much time watching TV, Tweeting, sending text messages,  etc etc.  We are losing the battle.  We are losing the battle.  We NEED to wake up.

Any and all comments are gladly appreciated.

40 Responses to “ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL??????”


  1. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a applicable deal. I were a little bit familiar of this your broadcast offered brilliant clear concept|
    singapore serviced office http://www.instantoffices.sg/

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Singaport–I’m running a bit behind in answering my e-mail so please forgive me. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. As you can see, my subject matter is fairly narrow. Most of my writing involves STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math ) subjects BUT sometimes I like to break away and do something just for fun. “Football” is one of those. I really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come back soon. Also, any suggestions you have for subjects matter will be greatly appreciated. Take care. Bob

      Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Doctors–Thank you so much for your very kind comments. As you can see, my subject matter is fairly narrow. Most of my writing involves STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math ) subjects, BUT sometimes I like to break away and do something just for fun. “Football” is one of those. I really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come back soon. Also, any suggestions you have for subjects matter will be greatly appreciated. Take care. Bob

      Like


  2. bookmarked!!, I love your blog!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Find Info–thank you so much for the kind comment and taking a look at my posting. I’m running a little behind in answering my mail so I appreciate your patience. Take care.

      Like


  3. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this paragraph at this site.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Dear Search Engine–thank you so much for the kind comment and taking a look at my posting. I’m running a little behind in answering my mail so I appreciate your patience. Take care.

      Like


  4. We All looked up your site on Alexa. I’m astonished at how really you position. I’m wondering you have optimized using the back-link tool for instance Ultimate Demon.
    Well done, that is the great option

    Like


  5. bigbeanbagchair.webs.com Adoring the document.. all the best sure, analysis is paying off. I appreciate you stating your viewpoint.. I value you posting your viewpoint..

    Like


  6. I really enjoy the blog.Really thank you! Will read on…

    Like


  7. Thanks for all the answers:) In fact, learned a lot of new information. Dut I just didn`t figure out what is what till the end!…

    Like


  8. I don’t even know how I stopped up here, however I thought this publish was good. I don’t understand who you are however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in case you aren’t already Cheers!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you Elewacje. I’m not certainly not a famous blogger. I write for intelligent people such as yourself and there aren’t many on our planet left out there. Many thanks for taking a look.

      Like


  9. What is the app in center of the headline image? I love the calendar view…

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Not too sure what you mean about the app relative to this posting. I live in Chattanooga, Tennessee and we in the SE are obsessed with football. It’s a religion down here. Many thanks for taking a look.

      Like


  10. You post awsome posts. Bookmarked !

    Like


  11. Great post, thanks for this information….

    Like


  12. Nice blog.keep up the good work.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      In the Southeaster part of the United States, football is KING with a capital K. The money flows during the fall and early winter seasons. It’s fun to write about and even more fun to witness. Many thanks for taking a look.

      Like


  13. I arrived anticipating something else entirely, but this made me laugh, so thanks. Interesting stuff.

    Like

  14. heart t Says:

    I\’ve been surfing on-line rather more than three hours as of late, however I don\’t ever discovered any appealing posting like your site. It\’s pretty worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if most of website homeowners and folks produced great content materials as you do, the web shall be a lot much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Heart, Really happy you enjoyed the posting. I love football, especially SEC and Devision I football. In my “neck of the woods” football is king and probably will always be so. Thank you for taking a look. B

      Like


  15. Mint is great with one (for me anyway) fatal flaw. You cannot customize budget start and end dates. It doesn\’t work well if your budget cycle runs from the 15th of the month to the 15th of the next or if you are paid on the 20th of the month, etc. It\’s very pretty but useless unless you can budget from the 1st until the last day of the month.

    Like


  16. We use Mint for our personal finances but the app we go to the most is iAllowance for keeping track of all the finances and chores for our kids. This is a segment of the family finance market that doesn\’t get much attention but it\’s a must have for parents.

    Like

  17. Robt Kinlaw Says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!|

    Like

  18. audiologist Says:

    Brilliant, thanks, I will bookmark you now.

    Like

  19. Jetta Rieber Says:

    Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, website theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task..

    Like


  20. I and also my pals appeared to be checking out the exceptional solutions located on your web page whilst immediately got a horrible suspicion I had not expressed respect to you for those techniques. My guys ended up for that reason stimulated to see them and have in effect surely been taking advantage of them. Thanks for genuinely considerably kind and also for finding such extraordinary details millions of individuals are truly wanting to be informed on. My sincere apologies for not saying thanks to you earlier.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Visit–thank you for your comments. I just hope you will be a frequent visitor. I have several postings I am in the process of reviewing so I hope to get another up and running in a day or so.

      Like


What do you think?

