WHEN DO THESE GUYS WORK?

December 20, 2009


WHEN DO THESE GUYS WORK

I definitely don’t want to be overly critical but have you ever wondered when our elected officials work.  How many hours do they really put in that represent “fruitful” endeavor?   Work that truly generates results.  I have a fairly good Congressional representative ( Mr. Zack Wamp—Third Congressional District, Tennessee ) and I would imagine he puts in long hours.  I get e-mails and see stories in the Chattanooga Times-Free Press of junkets, fundraising excursions, joint meetings with other Republican “types”, dinners, luncheons, etc.  His Congressional staff is adequate ( I suppose ) to handle the routine occurrences of “every day” events in Washington D.C.  I don’t really believe Zack is into pushing the boundaries of Congressional duty or thinking out of the preverbal box.  He basically tows the party line and keeps a very low profile.   I wonder though who is minding the store.  That same feeling exists “in spades”, when we look at the travels of our brand new President.    In his case there is a feeling that ‘if I’m not on television people may think I did not win’.  God forbid “my people” would ever feel I did not win.  What would Opra think?    Not being in the public eye is taken very seriously and considered a no-win situation.   Take a look:

  • 10 December          Oslo City Hall
  • 2 October                 Copenhagen
  • 10 August                Guadalajara
  • 11 July                       Ghana
  • 10 July                      The Vatican
  • 6 July                         Russia
  • 6 June                        France
  • 5 June                        Germany
  • 4 June                         Egypt
  • 7 April                        Iraq
  • 3 April                         France
  • 6 April                         Turkey
  • 3 April                         Germany
  • 2 April                          UK
  • 31 March                     UK
  • 19 February               Canada

You talk about global warming and extending your carbon footprint.   He has not yet been in office a year and yet he has logged thousands of frequent flyer miles.  Let’s also mention that the list above represents international trips and not those taken on Air Force One for “state-side” business.   It is apparent that he is very much dependent on “others” to conduct “the people’s business”.    I suspect that every President conducts himself in about the same fashion but is it not time to vote someone in who will be the President of the United States and not strive to be “king of the world”?  Let’s take a look at several areas desperately needing Presidential oversight if not Presidential attention:

  • FAA—Reorganization and new equipment were needed years ago.
  • FDA—Too few inspectors, too little time
  • FMEA—Are we really sure that New Orleans could withstand a CAT 3 or CAT 4 ( not to mention a CAT 5 ) hurricane?  We still don’t have this cat in the bag.
  • CDC—Doing a fairly good job but needing additional attention.
  • Veterans Administration—Underfunded from the get-go.
  • Commerce—Do I really need to say more?  We are driving off manufacturing at an alarming rate with no real end in sight.  Have you tried to get an SBA loan lately?  Good luck!!!!!!!!!!
  • Health Care—Congress has not and will not produce a “workable” solution.  Too many special-interest groups are in their pants.  They won’t be reelected without money being dumped into their PACTS.  Absolutely  no mention of fraudulent activities or tort reform in the present plan or plans.
  • Education—Less than a 50% graduation rate and a full 33% of our graduates can’t read at a fifth grade level.   Skill with mathematics is at an all-time low.  Significant trouble spots; Washington D.C., Detroit, Atlanta, Kansas City, Saint Louis, etc etc.  Whole generations uneducated and we seem powerless to do anything.  One of these days a dimwit will get elected to public office and we all will pay the price.  ( Come to think about it, it’s already happened.  Can anyone say Al Frankin????????)

Make your own list but, you will have to admit no one seems to be minding the store.  I have come to believe that it not a Republican thing or a Democrat thing—it is a Washington thing.   At any rate, we need a fix and need it fast.

28 Responses to “WHEN DO THESE GUYS WORK?”


  1. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. ! That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is identified as a fair game clearly. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Patricia–I hope my frustration was evident. A moment of weakness on my part. Thank you so much for taking a look and please do come again. Take care.

      Like


  2. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s
    both educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit
    the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that too few folks
    are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I came across this during my search for something concerning this.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you Direct for the very kind comments. Running a little behind in answering my mail. We have had a death in our family and it has resulted in delays in several areas. Please forgive my tardiness and thank you so much for taking a look at my site. Take care.

      Like

  3. Leia Kleeb Says:

    Adults Bean Bag So content to possess identified this article.. Actually valuable outlook, thank you for sharing.. So pleased to get located this post.. Recognize the value of the admission you provided..

    Like


  4. hello!,I love your writing very so much! proportion we keep in touch extra about your post on AOL? I require an expert in this house to solve my problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to peer you.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Cedrick, Some have been offended by this post but I truly do wonder when our congressmen and senators work. The results would indicate–not much. Really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come again. Take care.

      Like

  5. Sarbinowo Says:

    Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to see more posts like this.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Apparently this post was enjoyed by several people. Great comments– yours included. Really appreciate you taking a look and hope you will come again. I do wonder when our “elected officials” work. The results really don’t indicate very much. Take care.

      Like


  6. beautiful website, really useful, thank you!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Wusthof, Thank you for you kind comment and I certainly hope you will come again. I just posted number 135 so please take a look if you have time. It’s about the Dallas Museum of National History and Science.

      Like

  7. sex addict Says:

    I enjoyed your security posts, I\’m going to set up some cameras to keep an eye on my ducks.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello there. I was venting when I wrote this one. Washington D.C. has not been my vavorite place for quite some time now. Our government is at a stand-still–an all-time low. Thank you for taking a look.

      Like


  8. It is my pleasure to be a merber in your biog,and thank you so much that you allow me to share the article,it is my true feeling that I want to share this with others.Thanks again for everything, but most especially your friendship.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I was actually “venting” when I wrote this one. Washington D.C. is the most disfunctional city on the planet. Had to get that out some way. Take care.

      Like

  9. Botox course Says:

    Thanks for posting the good reads. I simply love the topics you discuss on your blog. They evoke a sense of responsibility in today\’s youth.

    Like


  10. I\’ve had a lot of success with HomeBudget. It\’s perfect for a family because my wife and I can each have the app on our iPhones and sync our budget between both.

    Like


  11. Fantastic website! Do you might have any strategies and hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to begin my own webpage quickly but I’m a bit lost on almost everything. Would you advise beginning using a totally free platform like WordPress or go for a paid solution? You can find lots of selections available that I’m absolutely confused .. Any suggestions? Numerous thanks!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Hello Cellulite. I use Word Press and have found it to be an excellent engine for bloggers. One thing I really like are the templates, the number of templates, the structure, color, etc etc. I can definitely recommend you taking a look. Also, jump right in. I have been blogging now for about three years and find it very refreshing and mind-clearing. Can’t recommend it highly enough. Good luck–you will definitely do well.

      Like


  12. I with each other with my pals happened to be reading by means of the top assistance out of your web weblog although all of a sudden created a terrible feeling I had not expressed respect for the blog owner for all those tactics. These young guys are currently for that explanation joyful to find out all of them and have now sincerely been loving them. We appreciate you genuinely genuinely thoughtful then for picking these sorts of decent topic matter a lot of people are truly eager to find out. Our truthful regret for not expressing appreciation to you sooner.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Boy do I appreciate these words. I try to choose subjects a little off the “beaten path”. I don’t comment on religion, politics, movie stars, etc etc–just STEM subject. ( Shows you what a wall-flower I really am. ) I do hope you come again. Take care. B.

      Like


  13. An impressive share, I just now with all this onto a colleague who was carrying out a bit analysis through this. And hubby the fact is bought me breakfast because of the reality I ran across it for him.. smile. So permit me to reword that: Thnx for just about any treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending time to go over this, I obtain myself strongly regarding it and adore reading a lot more on this topic. If it truly is achievable, as you grow expertise, does one particular thoughts updating your site with increased information? It is particularly a very good option for me. Significant thumb up due to this short article!

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      Thank you for taking a look at my site. I have been blogging now for about three (3) years and find it a good way to be not only creative but informative. I stay with fairly narrow subject matter; i.e. technology and personal improvement but that’s ok. I had much rather have readers who go for quality rather than quantity. Again, many thanks. Take care.

      Like


  14. This website has a lot of extremely useful information on it! Cheers for informing me.

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I certainly appreciate the comments–very kind comments indeed. I really do wonder when our government will really get down to business but I don’t really expect that to happen until it’s a panic situation. I certainly intend to follow their actions and will report on any progress they make. Take care.

      Like

  15. bonvito Says:

    “He has not yet been in office a year and yet he has logged thousands of frequent flyer miles.” <==golden. :))

    Like

    • cielotech Says:

      I agree with you completely. I’m an “old guy” and in my lifetime he is the worst President we have ever had. Needs to stay at home and mind the store instead of having his “peeps” do the work for him. Thank you for taking a look.

      Like


What do you think?

